A New Secret Weapon For Fat Loss

FastingTo some, this may not be anything new, but I found out about this “secret weapon” a few months ago. What is that secret weapon called? It is: Intermittent Fasting (IF). I’ve tested IF since discovering it and I of course feel that it’s worthy of writing about.

But first, what is Intermittent Fasting? IF can be simply defined as fasting for most of the day and allowing yourself only a small eating window. The standard IF method is 16/8. Meaning, a person will fast for 16 hours and consume all of their daily foods within an 8-hour eating window. Personally, I my fasting/eating window is 18/6. But at one point, I was doing 20/4. From my experience, the smaller the eating window, the better your results but it works great either way.

By the way, this article is a followup to my weight eBook, which would be found HERE. As promised, whenever I discover something that could aid in weight maintenance, I will share it along with my experience.

I tried IF in two different ways. First, I combined IF with a Paleo diet without counting calories. Secondly, I ate whatever I wanted except I counted my calories. You should also bear in mind that my goal was while fasting was weight loss. I’d allowed myself to put on 10 lbs (because I neglected to follow the plan I described in my weight loss eBook), so I figured that this would be a great way to see whether or not IF is the real deal. So, while on Paleo and no calorie counting, I did indeed lose fat. I wasn’t weighing myself but I did measure myself. The inches were definitely melting away. Then I switched over and began to eat whatever I wanted, but I was counting my calories. After playing around with the numbers, I’d reduced my caloric intake enough for me to lose 2.5  lbs. per week without IF. But — little did I know that I’d actually end up losing 4-5 lbs. per week. I’m not really sure how to explain how this occurs, but on IF, you lose fat a lot faster than you would on a regular calorie restricted diet. You will see the best results, however, if you were to place your body into a state of Ketosis while fasting.

I recall fitness expert Brandon Carter (no relation) reporting that he’d loss 14 lbs. in 14 days while trying out intermittent fasting. Here’s the video of Brandon describing his experience with IF.

The premiere source for all things pertaining to Intermittent Fasting would be the Leangains site. For a full guide as to how IF is done, check out Leangains by clicking HERE. There’s also a YouTube channel by The Hodge Twins in which they also discuss Intermittent Fasting and answer viewer’s questions pertaining to the subject. You can check them out HERE.

Intermittent fasting has also gained a lot of attention recently due to “Wolverine” star Hugh Jackman announcing that he’d used Intermittent Fasting to prepare for his role as Wolverine.

Conclusion: From my experience, Intermittent Fasting definitely works. IF could be for people who want to lose fat or for those who want to maintain their weight loss. A lot of fitness guys use IF to get ripped in a short period of time, so that proves how effective IF is for fat loss. However, it’s also been proven that IF is not only optimal for fat loss, it also helps improve focus, concentration and clarity. Another way of putting it is — IF is good for the mind as well. But you don’t have to listen to me. Try it out for yourself and tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

