Speed Reading – The Real Deal or All Hype?

Recently, I was browsing the net and I came across a few articles that described speed reading as one big scam.  The reasoning was that: its impossible for a person to read at a fast speed, comprehend what their read and retain the information all at the same time. Are the authors of those articles correct? If you would have asked me this a year ago, I would have said yes. But now, I’ve got to disagree and here’s why.

I will admit that I’ve come across some speed reading articles on the internet, ones in which the authors were attempting to instruct the reader how they could increase their reading speed. I tried a few of those and saw minimal results. So at that point, I was thought it was nonsense. My browsing the net for speed reading techniques came after seeing a few commercials on TV advertising speed reading. The commercials would show a person reading through an entire page in 2 seconds — which I didn’t believe and am actually still skeptical about.

The reason I’ve had a change of heart is because after thinking about it for a while, I knew there had to be SOMETHING to speed reading, because I know people who can read an entire book in a day. Not only can they read those books in a day, they can tell you what the book is about and discuss the contents. When I thought about that, I knew that speed reading had to be real. After reminding myself of those people and their abilities, I searched the net again and I came across a speed reading software. The reason I was so fascinated by speed reading was that I own a lot of books, but at that time, my reading speed was slow. I wanted to read all the books I own (over 300), but at my slow reading speed, that made it really difficult. My slow reading speed also made me not wanna read; essentially taking the fun out of it. I’m not exaggerating when I say that it used to take me a month to finish one whole book of about 300 pages.

So here’s what ended up happening: I came across a software called “7 Speed Software.” I downloaded a free trial of it and gave it a shot with a high level of skepticism. After downloading the software, and creating my user account, the first thing I was asked to do was take a reading test in order to determine my current reading speed. After taking the preliminary reading test, I reading speed was 230 words per minute (wpm). The average person reads 250 wpm, so I was below average, which to me is unacceptable. The creators of 7 Speed Software made a pretty bold promise. They GUARANTEED that they’d triple your reading speed by the way you completed their course. I didn’t believe them, but the way I was feeling, I would have been okay with doubling my reading speed.

So I began to take the lessons in the 7 Speed Software. After my first session, I increased my reading speed to 450 wpm. Not bad. After completing a few more lessons, I eventually got up to 800 wpm. Last time I tested, I was reading 1,000 wpm. Instead of tripling my reading speed as 7 Speed promised, my reading speed quadrupled. What I realized was that my slow reading speed was the result of me subvocalizing while reading. This means sounding out words in my head as I read. Because I was subvocalizing, that meant that I could only read as fast as I talk. Another issue I had was that I was fixating on words too long instead of just using word recognition. Needless to say, I was able to eliminate both of those problems. I’ve got to be honest though, in order to employ a method like speed reading, you’ve got to have an extensive vocabulary. Luckily, 7 Speed comes with a feature that allows users to increase their vocabulary. The more words you can recognize, you faster you can read.

There you have it! My story, at least to me, proves that speed reading is the real deal. Since using 7 Speed, I’m not taking a whole month to read a book anymore, LOL. In fact, I read an average of 10 books a month now. Even more, I retain 90% of what I read.

If you’re like me and you love reading, I definitely recommend learning to speed read. That way, you can read a lot faster and in effect, read and learn a lot more. Give 7 Speed a try by starting with their free trial. Click the picture below to visit their website.

7 Speed Reading

Leave a Reply

